English Literature (TASC Level 3)

Page 1 of 5

English Literature (TASC Level 3) - An Introduction

This subject guide will help you to locate the resources you will find particularly useful when commencing your studies in this area. Here is the best place to find books, information about databases and a guide to appropriate websites.

TASC. English Literature. Level 3, ENL315114, 2021.

Course details can be found on the TASC website here.

Independent studies (IPs): When undertaking any independent study, research or book review you must allow yourself enough time to search for and locate the material you need. To help you a booking sheet is kept at the Library desk where you may book an individual time with one of the Library staff when commencing any research for either English Literature or English Studies.

Library Resources
Prescribed Texts
Literature Guides
Web Resources

Library Resources

The Library catalogue is a powerful searching tool. Use a basic keyword search to get you quickly to the resources you will find on our shelves.

The following Dewey Numbers will also help you to find resources located on our shelves. Please note: the Australian material comes at the end of material on American, English and World literature.

Dewey Numbers
American literature

  • 811 American poetry
  • 812 American drama
  • 813 American prose and fiction

English literature

  • 821 English poetry (individual poets)
  • 821.008 English poetry collections
  • 822 English drama
  • 822.33 William Shakespeare
  • 823 English prose and fiction

Australian literature

  • A821 Australian poetry
  • A822 Australian drama
  • A823 Australian prose and fiction

World Literature

  • 830 German literature
  • 839.226 Norwegian literature
  • 840 French literature
  • 850 Italian literature
  • 860 Spanish literature
  • 870 Latin literature
  • 880 Greek literature
  • 891.7 Russian literature
  • 895.6 Japanese literature

eBooks

The Library has a range of eBooks, available from the menu at the top of the Library website, which could be useful for students in English literature or English studies. You will need your user name and password to log on. The following books are available:

Study Notes and Guides

Study notes, such as Cliffs Notes and other literature guides can be an important way to gather information about a text you are studying. They are entered onto the library catalogue and may be located by searching by series, title or author.

The English Faculty and the library purchase titles in these series. They are shelved on the main floor of the library. They are not arranged in the normal Dewey order, rather, they are shelved by author followed by title. Ask for help at the desk if you are not sure how to locate material you are looking for. Selected Study Notes are held on Reserve at the Circulation desk.

We can also arrange to purchase titles that are not in stock. You will need to allow us enough time to locate and purchase them.

Reference Material

Reference material can include dictionaries, encyclopaedia, yearbooks and almanacs. Reference material can be a way to determine basic information about a new or unfamiliar topic.

General encyclopedia

030 WOR The World Book Encyclopedia
030 NEW Encyclopedia Britannica

Subject Encyclopedia

919.403 The Australian Encyclopedia
The library also has many individual reference titles including a range of titles in the Oxford Companion series.

Prescribed Texts

TASC provide your teachers with a list of prescribed texts for you to choose from in English Literature. Some of these texts will be chosen by your teacher and some you will have to choose yourself, particularly for your Investigation Project.

Use the article index on the right of this page to view this year's prescribed texts list.

Literature Guides

The Library website has subject guides on texts and creators that appear in the prescribed texts lists for your Investigation Project or Independent Study (IP). These resources help you in your study of the novels, drama, poems, film, non-fiction and short story texts chosen by TASC and your teachers here at St. Patrick’s College.

Literature

Listed by authors.

Film

Listed by title.

Web Resources

Be careful what you download and use from the Internet.

Before using information from a web address ensure you are looking at a publication from a legitimate source. Material from the Internet often does not acknowledge the author or creator, does not cite references or footnotes, or include any type of bibliography or reference list. Use this type of material with caution. As part of your research process you need to sort out the reliable sources from the less trustworthy sites.

If in doubt always check with your teacher or a member of the Library staff.

Referencing advice: TASC and your teachers at St Patrick's College expect you to present your work using the Modern Language Association referencing system, 9th edition (MLA9). When you cite information you use the author's last name and the page number. You will also create a Works Cited List that will refer to all the works that appear as in-text citations. For further information go to the Library's Referencing Guidelines for extended help in this area. The Library staff are always happy to help you with any queries you may have in regard to referencing requirements for any research you are undertaking.

Faculty resources: All material purchased for the teachers in the English Faculty is also available for student use if it is not required by the teachers. The resources are kept in the Library and can be found by using the Library catalogue.

Article Index